DE

Bauernschänke

About

It’s important to us that the Bauernschänke remains a local favorite. Despite our openness for new impulses and trends, we create our dishes in accordance with our name and heritage. Sourcing food from the markets at Helvetiaplatz and Bürkliplatz is both a commitment to regionality and inspiration. We only work with seasonal products of the highest quality and choose our suppliers with the utmost care. At the same time, we don’t dismiss Zurich’s growing reputation as a cosmopolitan city with a multicultural flair and infuse our dishes with ingredients from afar. That’s why we also use saltwater fish, seafood or tropical fruits if that’s what a particular creation calls for. And we regularly expand our horizons with trips to culinary hotspots such as New York City, Copenhagen or Mexico City.

Team

Nenad Mlinarevic

The straightforward cuisine from our creative director and co-owner always puts the focus on the product. Nenad knows exactly where to get the best regional ingredients, but he also highlights his creations with outstanding products from afar. Because at the end of the day there’s only one thing that matters to him: the taste.

Valentin Diem

Co-owner and man in the background. Valentin has made a name for himself in Zurich with his innovative pop-up projects such as Wood Food and Soi Thai. He feels the culinary pulse of the city, makes sure his colleagues at the front can focus on their jobs and pays attention to the little things that keep the Bauernschänke running efficiently.

Patrick Schindler

Patrick burns for wine. Whether classical or natural, the Bauernschänke co-owner explores the world in search of winemakers with passion and surprising ideas. In Zurich, his responsibility covers all beverages, which also include homemade kombuchas and lemonades. On top of that, he shares his knowledge with our service crew and trains them.

Thomas Brandner

Our head chef has been part of the Bauernschänke family since the opening days. Thomas and Nenad go back to the restaurant Focus in Vitznau and also shared the kitchen at the Stadthalle. Hence, he understands Nenad’s philosophy like no other. But Thomas’ signature style, which is inspired by his Carinthian homeland, leaves its flavor in all creations.

Francie Witter

Our hostess is living proof that a classic education and years of experience in upscale gastronomy can go hand in hand with a relaxed, cordial attitude. Her ambition is to know and welcome guests as if they were old acquaintances. Francie is part of the founding team of Bauernschänke; she previously worked, among other restaurants, at George and Mesa.

Bauernschänke

About

Uns liegt am Herzen, dass die Bauernschänke im Kern ein Quartiertreff bleibt. Bei aller Offenheit für neue Impulse gestalten wir die Speisen stets dem Namen und dem Ort des Lokals entsprechend. Auf den Märkten am Helvetia- und Bürkliplatz einzukaufen, ist für uns Bekenntnis zur Regionalität und Inspiration zugleich. Wir arbeiten nur mit saisonalen Produkten von bester Qualität, unsere Lieferanten wählen wir mit grösster Sorgfalt aus. Als Teil der multikulturellen, international vernetzten Stadt Zürich wollen wir nicht ganz auf Zutaten aus der Ferne verzichten. Deshalb verwenden wir auch Salzwasserfische, Meeresfrüchte oder Südfrüchte, wenn sie in einer Kreation Sinn machen. Unseren Horizont erweitern wir regelmässig mit Reisen an kulinarische Hotspots wie New York, Kopenhagen oder Mexico City.

Presse

Team

Nenad Mlinarevic

In der geradlinigen Küche unseres Creative Directors und Teilhabers steht immer das Produkt im Zentrum. Nenad weiss genau, wo er die besten regionalen Zutaten herbekommt, setzt aber auch mit herausragenden Produkten aus der Ferne Akzente. Denn am Ende zählt für ihn nur eines: der Geschmack.

Valentin Diem

Unser Mann in Hintergrund hat sich in Zürich mit innovativen Pop-up-Projekten wie Wood Food und Soi Thai einen Namen gemacht. Er spürt den kulinarischen Puls der Stadt, hält den Kollegen an der Front den Rücken frei und steht als Teilhaber hinter so manchem Detail der Bauernschänke.

Patrick Schindler

Patricks Leidenschaft ist der Wein. Ob klassisch oder naturnah, unser Teilhaber sucht überall auf der Welt nach Winzern mit Herzblut und überraschenden Ideen. Hier in Zürich ist er verantwortlich für das Getränkekonzept, zu dem auch hausgemachte Kombuchas oder Limonaden gehören. Zudem berät und trainiert er unsere Service-Crew.

Thomas Brandner

Unser Küchenchef hält der Bauernschänke seit der Eröffnung die Treue. Da er schon im Restaurant Focus in Vitznau und in der Stadthalle mit Nenad am Herd stand, kennt er dessen kulinarische Philosophie wie kein Zweiter. Gleichwohl ist auch Thomas’ eigener, von der Kärntner Heimat inspirierter Stil stets herauszuschmecken.

Francie Witter

Unsere Gastgeberin beweist, dass eine klassische Ausbildung und jahrelange Erfahrung in der gehobenen Gastronomie durchaus mit einer unverkrampften, herzlichen Art unter einen Hut passen. Ihr Ehrgeiz ist es, die Gäste zu kennen, als seien sie alte Bekannte. Francie gehört zum Gründungsteam der Bauernschänke, zuvor war sie unter anderem im George und im Mesa tätig.